Tis’ Con Report (September)

Well, as some of you may have guessed, due to my relative silence here on ye olde wordpress, it’s been a busy month so far, which has included a bit of traveling. *hee*

First, I was at Dragon*Con in Atlanta from the 2nd through the 8th. As usual, I had a blast and met some new people, like the remarkable Kage Alan, who has fast become one of my favorite people. There is literally no distance limit on the venom he spits. *hee* No, he really is a joy to know and has a wonderfully sarcastic sense of humor. I’m getting ready to read one of his books, and from the excerpt, it seems that his humor carries over, so I’m quite looking forward to the story.

The rest of Dragon*Con was great, too. I talked about my stories with some readers and handed out promo stuff. Attended some writing panels and so on, at which I met a few other authors and publishers. If I can just finish my latest edits and the stories I’ve got under contract, maybe I can write some new stuff for other pubs. Heh-heh. That’s a mighty big if.

On the non-writing side of Dragon*Con, there was the usual party in the room. It was good, except for the part where the people throwing the party in the next suite down sicced Security on us for something we didn’t do, but I guess mistakes happen, right? Our party didn’t end because of that, anyway. It eventually ended because it was five in the morning and we all had things to do early the next day. LOL

I do want to say that while my friends and I always stay at the Marriott, I still prefer the bar at the Hyatt, across the street. The new bar at the Marriott looks nice, but it’s nearly impossible to get a drink when there’s any sort of crowd and the layout is less convenient, in my opinion. Still, those who partied there seemed to enjoy it and it did free up a little extra space at the Hyatt bar, so I’m in favor of the new Marriott bar. πŸ˜›

I was already coming down with the usual Con Crud by the time I got home. Fortunately, I had a week and a half or so to recover before I headed off into the wilds of New Jersey (Seacaucus) for the Authors After Dark convention, which was actually geared specifically toward romance writing. There were loads of readers, autors, editors and publishers there and I had a great time talking to everyone about my stories while I manned the Torquere Press table with K.I.L. Kenny, Jodi Payne & Kara Larson. I also distributed loads of swag on both my behalf and TQ’s (as did the ladies, who totally rock, btw).

AAD was a very small convention, which was nice. It was a lot of fun to have one-on-one time with readers and be able to answer their questions about backlist stories and those that have yet to come out. If I’m able to arrange my time in such a way that I can attend next year (it’s in Philadelphia for 2011, I believe), then panels! More panels! It’s my goal. *grins*

I think the award for greatest distance traveled for AAD has to go to Larissa, who made the trip from Brazil!

The events ended earlier today, for the most part, and I had to check out of my room before noon, so I didn’t get the chance to say goodbye to everyone the way I would have liked to, so… if you were there and I didn’t see you before I left, consider yourself hugged or whatever. πŸ˜›

So that’s what I’ve been up to for the last few weeks. I’m still in edits on two books and trying to finish one that’s due in on October 1st, and I have loads of ideas for other new stories, so… stay tuned and I’ll update again just as soon as I have any news that’s, you know… NEW.

Oh, ‘Lime Green: Margarita Mondays’ will release on the 29th of this month. I’ll be hosting the Torquere Social LJ on the 30th, so stop by for a chance to win the new story! πŸ™‚

Laters, my sugar-coated marshy-chicks!

~Tis

5 thoughts on “Tis’ Con Report (September)

  1. I had Bronwyn Green picking up swag for me at AAD – I didn’t realize you were going to be there!!

    And hey, if you’re interested in another pre-release promo, I should put that together STAT!

    • I was something of a late addition to the AAD convention. Mostly because I didn’t decide whether I was going or not until maybe a month beforehand. I wasn’t sure if my schedule (aka- money) would allow for it. πŸ˜›

      It was a lot of fun, though, and I wouldn’t bet against me attending another AAD event in the future, sometime.

      Oh… contesty thing! I totally zoned on even thinking about that. Too much travel and craziness, I think. 😦 But yes, that would be lovely if you’re able to fit me in. *hugs*

      ~Tis

  2. Yes!! If you can get the blurb and cover to me Tuesday, we can kick off on Tuesday! πŸ˜€

    Oh, here’s a cool AAD story – and you have to skim through the comments after reading the post. Really. The comment of particular interest is nearly at the end. You’ll know it when you see it, after reading the post.

Leave a Reply

