A Whisper to a Scream…

and bonus points for those who know where the subject line of this post comes from. *hee*

So I was tooling around on LJ a few minutes ago (because I do that sometimes) and there was a post asking about author websites/blogs and what people would like to see, what makes people go back to a site/blog, and what will turn them completely off and make them never visit the site/blog again. As the two people asking these questions are authors within the m/m (or gay, if you will) romance genre whom I have a great deal of liking and appreciation for, I answered.

Lo and behold, I found myself saying that I like it when authors update their blogs, even if it’s a WEE update… I also found myself admitting that I’m incredibly craptastic at doing this, myself.

So. Here it is. A promise, for those who might be interested.

I WILL post an update here at least once a week.

It might be a few paragraphs, or even just a few lines, but I’ll do my best to keep everyone aware of what’s going on in my “Worlds Within Words”. *hee*

As many of you may know (because I’ve mentioned it before, but possibly not here), I’ve been working on the third and final book in the “Conventional” series. The first two (Conventional Wisdom and Conventional Education) were novella length, but it looks as though the third — tentatively titled Unconventional — will be novel-length. I’m approximately 25 pages (in MSWord) from finishing it, I think, and after that it’ll go off to the publisher to be either accepted or declined. I’m hoping for the former. πŸ˜›

I’ve also been working on another story that I believe will be novella-length. This one is part of Torquere Books’ Color Box line and will be a sequel of sorts to my previous Color Box (Lemon Yellow: Making Lemonade) in that it will deal with one of the secondary characters from Lemon Yellow, Troy.

Ever have that feeling like you KNOW what you should be doing but you can’t quite see it? When it’s more a feeling than a fact?

This story, with the color Lime Green, is one of those.

I’ve started it three different times, in three different ways since November, which is when I signed on for the color, and none of them have been quite right. Finally, earlier today, I had a bit of a breakthrough. I’m fairly confident that I know what I want this story to say and how I want it to happen. Which means I have three beginnings that will likely languish in dubious splendor on my hard drive for years. LOL

In any case, Lime green is due in by May 1st and I’m feeling good about making that deadline now. *grins*

In other news, as I’m sure I’ve said before, my first book with Total-E-Bound is due out toward the end of February. It’s called A Game of Chances and is what I hope will be the first of a trilogy centered around the men and women of the Farmingdale Gentleman’s Club, a gray-ops organization that employs all sorts of (I hope) interesting characters. *grins* I’ve already submitted the second book to the publisher but I think they’re waiting to see how book 1 sells before saying yay or nay. I hope some of you will be interested enough to give it a shot when it’s released. And yes, I’ll be posting blurb and buy-link here, once I’ve got them. For now, check out the cover! (Assuming this works, anyway. I’m somewhat challenged when it comes to web stuff. If ‘challenged’ means incredibly inept, anyway. *blushy-face*)

A Game of Chances

Also coming out toward the end of February is the next book in the One and One series, The One That Stayed.

This one is a little bit different from the first two (The One That Got Away and The One That Was Lost) in that it tells the story of Russell and David, Jamie (from the second book)’s father Russell and Russell’s long-time lover and husband, David. We get to see them meet and go through all the things that led to them becoming the men who appeared in the first two books as secondary characters. There’s also a fourth in this series, but I’ve no clue when it’ll be coming out. LOL

In any case, here’s the cover for The One That Stayed, Russell and David’s story:

You know, I’m sure there’s more, but after my stunningly frustrating and insane day with Mum, I’m drawing a blank. Besides, I’d planned this to be a SMALL update. LOL

In any case, that’s what’s going on in Tis-ville right now, as far as writing goes. I’ll be back next week with another update, and feel free to ask any questions or whatever in comments here. They’re screened, but I promise to reply! πŸ™‚

~Tis

6 thoughts on “A Whisper to a Scream…

  1. Hi Tis. I am feeling the guilt too, but I haven’t got around to doing anything about it yet. I really need to get my HTML brain in gear and do some updates for GLBT Bookshelf and my infant website. But there are all those shiny lists on Goodreads…

    This was a very nice update. Glad there are plenty of upcoming TC Blue stories for me to collect. I think I have a complete set from TQ now.

    • Heh-heh. Yeah, Goodreads is interesting. I just recently signed up there and have no clue how to use it, but I’m starting to muddle my way through. LOL

      I also need to set something up on the GLBT thingy, which I’ve been promising myself I’d do, but it’s just so intimidating. *sighs* I’m honestly afraid my lack of ability might crash the whole internet. *blushes*

      Glad you liked the update. I really AM going to try being better about it. See, stuff happens but usually it’s boring so I don’t bother sharing. Oh, well, I guess people already know how dull my life is, so they’ve been forewarned. LOL

      Thanks for commenting, hon’! πŸ™‚

      ~Tis

  2. Updates are great, but you know what’s even better? A “Coming Soon” link so that we know what books are forthcoming in which series. It’s tremendously helpful and builds anticipation that we might see our favorite characters again soon. The other added benefit for you is that it gives us a heads up about which books we need to buy next!

    • Good point! And I’m exactly ditzy enough that I never even considered this. *blushes*

      I’ll have to have a wee chat with the Mistress to see where/how the best way to do this is, but with any luck, I should have a coming soon page up within the next week. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the suggestion; it’s a very good idea!

      ~Tis

  3. Oh goody! Right now I’m awaiting sequels to the Conventions series (loved the last one!) and the Farmingdale Gentleman’s Club (harrowing but I inhaled the story). As soon as the pub dates for these are posted, I’ll add them to my TBB calendar.

    I’m assuming that the One and One series has ended? 8-(

    • Well, the last and final Conventions book (this one novel-length! *boggles*) has been submitted to the publisher. I’ll let everyone know once I’ve heard from them. πŸ™‚

      The second FGC book looks like it’ll be out sometime in November. Just waiting for the contract before I announce the date as a sure thing.

      And no… No, no, no. There’s actually another One & One book that I’m currently in edits on. It’s called “The One That Broke Free” and barring any unforseen circumstances, should be available at the end of April. *hee* That one will be the current (probably temporary) end of the series, though I’m toying with a couple more stories for sometime in 2011.

      Also, the sequel to my very first novel “Life or Something Scary Like That” should (hopefully) be released sometime later this year, as well. It’s got a working title of “Life Changes Everything” and while Jack and Cliff do have minor roles (along with much of the cast of characters from the first book), they are not the primary pairing. πŸ™‚

      Hope all that helps, and I really am talking with the Mistress about a ‘coming soon’ page! Swear! πŸ˜€

      ~Tis

Leave a Reply

